Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

If you’re a contractor seeking to do business with the Department of Defense, you’re probably aware of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). The Department will begin requiring Defense Industrial Base (DIB) contractors to achieve CMMC Certification at the appropriate maturity level beginning in 2024.

CMMC is designed to protect Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) that is handled, stored, and/or processed by DIB contractors. CMMC is being implemented to further protect the DIB supply chain and the mission of the Department.

Now is the time to begin planning and preparing for your organization’s CMMC journey. Coalfire Federal is standing by and ready to assist your team on its CMMC journey with our CMMC advisory and assessment services.


Get Started Today

Why is the CMMC Certification Process Different?

CMMC 2.0 is the next iteration of the Department’s CMMC cybersecurity model. It streamlines requirements to three levels of cybersecurity and aligns the requirements at each level with well-known and widely accepted NIST cybersecurity standards. 

The Department’s model will significantly improve its supply chain security posture and acquisition confidence.  

search icon


A CMMC self-assessment is acceptable only for those companies that are only required to protect the information systems on which FCI is processed, stored or transmitted.  Organizations conducting self-attestations for CMMC Level 1 will require an annual self-assessment and an annual affirmation by a senior company official.

consultant icon

Security Practice Alignment

CMMC 2.0 is intended to accommodate a majority of DIB contractors that only handle FCI by eliminating maturity process requirements for CMMC Level 1.  CMMC Level 2 is designed to align with NIST SP 800-171 and its 110 security practices while eliminating all CMMC specific and unique security practices.

medal icon

Increased Vigilance

Instead of check-the-box compliance, organizations must think more in-depth about becoming secure and staying that way. Increased vigilance will likely be necessary to achieve and maintain cyber maturity.

CMMC Three Levels of Cybersecurity

The CMMC 2.0 model has three levels of cybersecurity:  Foundational, Advanced, Expert.  The Department will determine the appropriate CMMC level required upon award for future Department contracts.

Review CMMC Levels

Preparing for the Certification Process

Meeting the certification requirements could be challenging for many organizations. Thorough preparation will be crucial for ensuring your business won’t be left behind when seeking contracts. The following tips can help verify your readiness:

  • Start early: It may take more time than you think to update your cybersecurity practices and make them compliant. Don’t wait until the last minute to make your organization certification-ready.
  • Become familiar with the framework: The Cyber Accreditation Body (Cyber AB) has prepared numerous resources for review that can assist with preparation.
  • Compare where you are with where you need to be: Consider a boundary workshop and gap analysis to assess your current preparedness level and determine areas for improvement.
  • Seek help: If you’re feeling overwhelmed by the requirements, enlisting the services of a C3PAO like Coalfire Federal can prove invaluable in your preparation and help you avoid common pitfalls.

Contact Us to discuss your cmmc journey

Why Should Your Organization Partner With Coalfire Federal?

Coalfire Federal offers more than two decades of experience in providing reliable cybersecurity and compliance services to a wide range of commercial and public sector organizations. We can provide the expertise and support you need to navigate the certification process and attain maturity and compliance. We also offer remediation services to help you identify and correct issues that could prevent certification. 

Coalfire Federal has multiple locations across the United States to serve you. Contact us today to learn more about how our services can help your organization become and remain compliant. 

Protect the Mission with Coalfire Federal.


CyberAB RPO Badge 2022 - Transparent BG